How To Delete Story On Facebook? [Easy Guide]

Your Facebook stories are temporary and without doing anything, these stories disappear after 24 hours. However, there may be certain times when you want to delete story on Facebook before it gets automatically removed because of Facebook’s digital algorithm.

Facebook provides you the option of deleting your story as soon as it becomes online; probably saving you from potential embarrassment. In this article; we’ve mentioned tried and tested methods by which you can delete story on Facebook along with some tips on using this disappearing feature.

Methods To Delete Story On Facebook

In this article; we’re assuming that you already know how to log into your Facebook account on your mobile phone or your desktop. The steps to do it are the same on both the devices and no additional step is involved.

Note: When you use Facebook on your desktop, the story may not appear in your feed immediately. If it does, tap on “See All” and select your username. There is also a notification that you have an active story. To delete story on Facebook follow the two given phases.

Phase 1

As soon as your story is online, tap on it; and choose the Three horizontal dots present on the top right corner of the screen. This action reveals a more menu and requires you to select “Delete Photo” in order to delete story on Facebook. If you used a video, the selection will say “Delete video”.

Tap On The Delete Photo

Phase 2

After you select the specified option, a pop-out window will appear asking you to confirm your decision. Choose “Delete” to delete story on Facebook.

Moreover, the More menu offers several options other than “Delete video/photo”. There’s a “Something Gone Wrong” feature to help you troubleshoot your story. You need to briefly describe the problem and perhaps include a screenshot of the problem. But it should be used only if there is some serious glitch in the system.

For example, this query can be used by you if Facebook fails to post your stories through both the desktop and mobile app. The same happens if all stories appear black or fail to run when loading. Otherwise, it’s too easy to delete story on Facebook and try to post it again. With that in mind, Facebook is extremely fast in answering your question and you can get to the bottom of the problem in a matter of time.

Delete Story Before Posting

There’s neither a reason nor an option to delete story on Facebook before you post it, your story is not kept by Facebook as a draft. If you’re not happy with how your story turned out, use the Edit menu to make it look better according to your wish. Or, you can simply tap on the left arrow button to exit the main menu and select the “Discard Story” option.

How To Extend The Lifecycle Of A Story?

We’ve already discussed how to permanently delete story on Facebook, let’s now discuss how to keep it up for more than twenty-four hours. But before doing so, there’s a thing you need to know.

When you permit Facebook Story Archive, all your stories go there. There’s no way to program a social network to keep some stories and dig up others by itself. And if the user decides that they no longer need the archive, all saved stories present there will be erased.

Since similar steps apply to the desktop Facebook and mobile apps, so the user does not need a different guide.

  • On the mobile app, select your profile picture and choose the Three horizontal dots present next to Add Story option. Desktop users need to tap on their username and then tap on the Three horizontal dots present below the cover photo.
Tap On The Three Horizontal Dots
  • On the next screen click on “Archive” and then “Story Archive”.
Tap On Story Archive
  • Now you will see all the stories that you have archived. On the desktop, click “Settings” and then click “Turn on story archive.” On a mobile device, tap on the Three horizontal dots present at the top of the screen, and then select “Settings.” From here you can switch on the archive.
Toggle On Save To Archive Option

The best part of this feature is that it also keeps all the comments and reactions to your stories.

Delete An Archived Story

The process to delete an archived story is quite similar to the process to delete story on Facebook that are active at the time. But this time you need to access the archive instead of the story feed.

  • For this, tap on the Three dots in order to enter the More menu and choose “Archive” and then “Story Archive”. Now, select the story you want to delete, and click on the Three horizontal dots once more.
Tap On Archive
  • Choose the option of “Delete This Story” from the drop-down menu and confirm your decision in the pop-up window that appears after the previous step. This is it! You have completed the process to delete story on Facebook when it’s kept in the archived section.
Tap On Delete This Story

Moreover, the menus are very nice and intuitive to manage stories. The only thing that could have been improved is having an option to choose and then select which stories to collect. Somewhat an option to save only the stories having the most reactions or comments.

Can A Story On Facebook Be Shared Only With Selected Friends?

Yes, it is possible to share your story only with selected friends. However, the process isn’t as easy as with Instagram’s story. On the editing page, select the ‘Privacy’ option present in the lower-left corner.

You can make your story public for everyone to see, you can share it with friends that are added to your account, or you can just use the ‘Custom’ option to share it with some selected people.

If you wish to show your story only to some of your friends then you can use the Privacy option to control who can see your story. In addition to the features described, you can also filter the users that are allowed to view your story. Be careful if you choose Public since this option allows anyone with Messenger or Facebook to see your story.

Who can see my story on Facebook?

Anyone who follows you can see your Facebook story.

Can people see who viewed their Facebook?

No, people can’t see who viewed their Facebook.

Can you make Facebook Stories private?

Yes, you can make Facebook stories private.

By Fixing Port Staff

At Fixing Port, we serve the latest tech news and help our audience with the guides to fix all the errors that they are facing in their tech-life.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.