WhatsApp added a new feature to its beta version ‘View Once’. This feature lets you send any photo or video for a one-time view. If you have used Instagram or Snapchat, you may find it familiar. In case you are unaware of this, we got you covered. In this article, you will learn to send “View Once” message on WhatsApp. To know more, keep on reading.
What is exactly the ‘’View Once’’ feature?
With the ‘View Once’ feature, you can send any picture or video which disappears automatically once opened. ‘View Once’ is added as a privacy feature. However, this feature isn’t new but has been applied to other apps (Instagram and Snapchat) before.
How To Send “View Once” Message On WhatsApp?
There is no rocket science in sending a “View Once” message. All you need to do is to follow the instruction mentioned below.
- Open Chat/group chat.
- Now, tap on the Pin icon/Camera icon or select media directly from the gallery.
- Once selected, look down to the Text Bar.
- Now, on its right side, you will see ‘’1’’ in a circle, tap on that too.
- As it turns green, you will see a message “Photo/video set to view once”.
- At last, click on the Send button.
Can The Media Be Deleted Or Stored Once Sent?
The deleting feature works the same as before. However, the media destroys itself once opened. Also, the media will not be stored in the recipient’s gallery.
Further, you or the recipient cannot forward it to anyone. Besides, once the message is opened, you cannot create its backup. However, if it remained unopened, you can create a backup within 14 days of being sent and so can open later when restored.
This new feature send “View Once” message on WhatsApp. And, it is both secure and useful in many ways. Nonetheless, anyone can take a screenshot or record the video, hence, for you, it is important to be selective with what and to whom you are sending the message.
WhatsApp was founded by Brian Acton and Jan Koum.
Will Cathcart is the CEO of WhatsApp.
Jan Koum was the first CEO of WhatsApp.