iMessage may seem like a simple medium of communication, but in reality, it’s a complex and dynamic platform with a wide range of features and functions. On iMessage, one can not only text but also share pictures, videos, voice notes, play games, and much more. With recent updates, you’re probably wondering, “What does “Kept” mean on iMessage?”
Although you can Google “What does “Kept” mean on iMessage,” we’re here to give you a more simple understanding of the feature.
If the ‘expiry’ option on the recipient’s phone is set to ‘after 2 minutes’; any audio message received will come with a ‘keep’ link below it. If the user taps on this link, the voice note will get saved in the chat and a ‘kept’ notification will be visible to the sender; indicating that the recipient has chosen to keep the voice message. It’s important to note that the sender will receive the ‘kept’ notification, even if the ‘expire’ option is set to ‘never’.
What Does “Kept” Mean On iMessage?
With iMessage, any voice note you receive will disappear by default in 2 minutes, owing to Apple’s auto-destruct feature. In other words, an audio message sent to you will automatically be deleted 2 minutes after you have heard it.
This feature is a blessing in disguise if the voice note you received contained confidential; or private information that you wish to be deleted from your device. However, if you wish to retain the message, here’s what you can do.
- Head to ‘Settings’ and click on ‘Messages’.
- Then scroll to the end of the page and press the ‘Audio Messages’ option; under which an ‘Expire’ option will appear.
- The default settings here are set to ‘After 2 minutes’; but if you wish to keep the voice message in the chat history like any other text; change the settings to ‘Never’, and you are good to go.
Yes, if the mic icon on the right side of the audio is blue, it means the receiver listened to an audio message.
If you see the delivered indicator under the message you sent, it means the message is delivered to that person.
It happens when the receiver’s phone is turned off and is unable to receive your messages.